A few nights ago I tried one of the Dream Technique’s from the Temple of Shamanic Witchcraft, Christopher Penczak, called the Lucid-Dream Trigger.

Christopher writes:

Frederik can Eeden and marquis d'Hervey de Sai...

Frederik can Eeden and marquis d'Hervey de Sai...

“The term lucid dreams literally means “clear dreams.” The lucid state refers to clarity and consciousness that we usually lack  in the dream state. You could describe a lucid dream as your mind being awake as your body sleeps. You are aware you are dreaming, and have a certain measure of control over the dream. It can be recalled with greater clarity and feel very real, even though you are aware it is a dream. The term lucid dreaming was coined by a Dutch psychiatrist named Frederik van Eeden, in 1913, in a a paper published by the Society for Psychical Research, of which van Eeden was a member. Though this is a universal experience in almost every culture, he was the first to bring it to the attention of modern academics.

People as me how to have lucid dreams, but aren’t sure why they want to have, beyond “it sounds cool.” Some want to have  clear visualization experiences because they visualize in their dreams but have difficulties during meditations. One purpose of lucid dreaming is to condition your consciousness to remain alert and aware at deep levels of nonordinary reality. Lucid dreams prepare you for deeper journeys, and eventually the experience of crossing form this life to another consciously during the death process. The other main purpose of lucid dreaming is to work on manifestation abilities. In the dream world, time lapse between having a thought and making it a reality is very short. Unlike the physical world, where you can send out a spell and it may take days, weeks, or months to manifest, in the dream world this process is practically instantaneous…”

Cover of "The Temple of Shamanic Witchcra...

Cover via Amazon

I had several thoughts about this and other methods of dream-work, much inspired by folks I know and the idea of working on the dream level to carry out some magickal tasks, healing, and the like.

Generally once I am dreaming, and in the rare occasions I become lucid, I can easily enter the Astral realms and travel. I love to project in this way but I gotta say, I’ve had a hard time with it. That is, until I tried the following exercise.

Dream Technique 4: Lucid-Dream Trigger.

“You can Awaken your consciousness and not your body in a dream through the use of a self-hypnotic trigger. Use your instant-magick trigger (ITOW, exercise 12) or a light meditative state, and suggest to yourself that when you see a particular image (choose an unusual image), it will “shock” you “awake” to the fat that you are dreaming. Then affirm that you will see this image in your dreams tonight and it will trigger your lucid dream. Pick something you never dream of. Many of my dreams are in old primordial forests, with lots of pine, oak, ash, hemlock, and birch trees…”

Christopher gives a few examples and then moves on to other dream techniques.

I wanted to give this a try. My instant magick trigger works “instantly” dropping me into a deeper state of consciousness and I almost use it daily. I began to drift into sleep and as I did I used my trigger to form the image that would work for me, that of me seeing my hands using my trigger. I figured that the fingers crossed in the waking life would be enough to snap me to awareness in the dream state.

I didn’t fall into sleep I sort of slid from one awareness to another. One minute I was in my bed and the next I was in the dream state. It was strange. Not being where I had left and a very definite feeling of sliding into somewhere else. Also I think I was a woman. *shrug*

There was a blue-black color and as images began to form, I felt myself being to astral project. Oops. I startled myself right back into the waking consciousness. My heart was beating, I uncrossed my fingers.

It was a little success, but definitely an achievement. I haven’t consciously projected in years. I’m looking forward to playing with this Lucid-Dream trigger more.

Do you have experience with dreaming lucid? Can you achieve the conscious dreaming state easily? How do you do it?

Curious,

– –
Be well,

Scott K Smith
http://lifencompass.com

Want to support Lifencompass?
Subscribe via RSS. Leave a comment, those are always appreciated. Submit something for posting, topics and ideas are welcome.

Scott Lifencompass

